top of page
Search

A Deer in Headlights...Off Camera Flash #1

Updated: Dec 4, 2019



When starting this shoot, we started at a laundry mat. It was difficult shooting because of all the windows in the background. so we had to shoot at an angle in the laundry mat. For this picture, I had gels on the two lower flashes. For the main flash i used the bounce card inside to make the light less harsh on my model.


ISO - 400

Shutter - 1/100

F/stop - 4.0





When shooting here, I wanted to utilize the props around the laundry mat. so I decided to use the cart. During this shoot, I practiced talking to my model, showing them the photos throughout the shoot, and being able to give them more direction. I had the settings of the flash the same as the first photo.


ISO - 400

Shutter - 1/100

F/stop - 4.0

Mid- Shoot we decided to change locations. We went to kascade, and asked for permission to be able to shoot. After, discussing what we would be doing, they allowed us.. we went to kascade because it was darker in there and we thought it would be a cool set up. When taking this picture, I had two different gels one on each of the smaller flashes. I had the flash that had purple on closer to my model while the other one was further back. For the main flash, I didn't use the bounce card or the defuse. I had my helping hand hold the flash above my head directly pointing at my model.


ISO - 400

Shutter - 1/125

F/stop - 4.0


At this point in the shoot, the model and I were comfortable with each other. Which helped improve the communication. I kept the settings for the flashes the same as before, but instead of shooting lower as I did in the picture above, I moved higher up.. more eye level.


ISO - 400

Shutter - 1/125

F/stop - 4.0

In this photo, we used a hockey table and I placed my phone beneath the lens to use it as a reflective surface for the picture. I shot from the other side of the table, and the flashes were placed one on each side of the table. Then the main flash was held to the left of the model above her.


ISO - 400

Shutter - 1/125

F/stop - 4.0

This photo was taken over a pool table, using a pool stick as a prop. The lights were still placed the same way...i had the light settings as the same, i didn't change them much throughout the shoot as to i wanted the lights to be more vibrant and less harsh. One struggle was getting the camera to focus on to the model, because there was very little light. I had to shine my flashlight from my phone focus the camera, then turn it off.


ISO - 400

Shutter - 1/125

F/stop - 4.0

This picture was towards the end of our shoot, the owner of Kascade wanted us to shoot against this wall. Where we were allowed to use the set up of lights they had as well. i had the smaller flashes on the ground one of each side of the model.. we also had a purple LED light in the center at the bottom. and the main flash was above my head once again.


ISO - 400

Shutter - 1/50

F/stop - 4.0

When shooting this photo had the two flashes on the floor, facing up towards the model. I did raise the power on the flashes when shooting in this particular spot.

ISO- 400

Shutter- 1/125

F/stop- 4.0

Here is the last edit from the shoot. I shot against the brick wall because of the texture it showed. I also placed the lights on the floor angled up at the model to brighten up the bottom. The main flash was held above my head but pointing at the model....overall I had fun experience learning how to make the model more comfortable.

ISO- 400

Shutter- 1/125

F/stop- 4.0

BEHIND THE SCENES:






11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page