top of page
Search

Floating in the clouds...off camera flash #2

For my second off camera flash, I wanted to do a cloud look.. when I saw this idea on Pinterest I thought the flashes would make this go perfect to give the lit up experience.

*For this shoot, I went and purchased pillow stuffing to get the cloud like appearance. I used two Flashes throughout this shoot. Mainly because I did not have a remote to fire off the flashes, so I worked with what I could. Using the main flash and one slave flash, I connected the main flash on to my camera and linked the slave flash. The gel was on slave flash which was placed under the "clouds" using a stand. I was using a diffuser on the main flash.

ISO- 400

F/stop- 5.0

Shutter- 1/125

Flashes- second light meter.


* I had also purchased some mini string lights. That I would look cute for this shoot. One downfall from this shoot was being limited one flash for the background effect. Although a positive was interacting with my model more, by using the tips from Peter Hurley's video. When editing these pictures it was kind of difficult at times to keep the clouds looking realistic.

ISO- 400

F/stop- 5.0

Shutter- 1/125

Flashes- remianed the same

* Throughout the shoot, I did try to switch gels to a red color, but I believed the red looked way to harsh even with flash set to the lowest power. I also wanted the color of the flash to reflect my model, which is why a softer color was selected. I do wish I had her change shirts...maybe a darker top would have reflected the red better.

ISO- 400

F/stop- 5.0

Shutter- 1/125

Flashes- remain the same

*I really liked how this picture turned out..as I said before I wish I had one more flash to make the clouds really light up. or I regret not moving the flash to the other side of the picture ..it would've helped with editing.


ISO- 400

F/stop- 5.0

Shutter- 1/125

Flashes- remain the same

*For this picture I took off the gels but still remained using the diffuser.. I believe the diffuser made a big difference in terms of making the light softer onto the model.


ISO- 400

F/stop- 5.0

Shutter- 1/125

Flashes- remain the same










Overall, I enjoyed shooting off camera flash.. I think it was different experience but also a learning at that. I did not believe I would actually like it and want to use it. but it turns out I really like it and believe I will use it again.


BEHIND THE SCENES :



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page