top of page
Search

Bokeh- It's starting to look alot like Christmas...

Updated: Dec 12, 2019


My Bokeh Experience was something different, it was more of a challenge.. if you were behind the camera.. I had to do around 10 practice shots with adjusting the settings or my distance..each one of those times..for my bokeh I did use off camera flash, I felt it brought better light on to my model's skin... For the under light I did put the Christmas lights in the cloud like substance I had...




ISO - 400

Shutter - 1/80

F/stop - 1.8





I wanted the pictures to be a nice Christmas vibe to it... so I had the pillow stuffing represent snow. A struggle was making sure the camera was actually focusing on my model, instead of on her arm.




ISO - 400

Shutter - 1/80

F/stop - 1.8






The extra lights that were beneath the pillow stuffing, are the ones that are being used as a light source for her face.. I was using one flash, it was set to the lowest setting because I didn't want the light to be as strong.



ISO - 400

Shutter - 1/80

F/stop - 1.8







This picture was taken.. when the flash was delayed.. so it was actually under exposed.. but I still tried to play with the editing on it.. I think its quite cool to see visually..




ISO - 400

Shutter - 1/80

F/stop - 1.8







By this time of shoot, I took a Christmas tree tassel and asked her to play around with it. I think it reflected the light nicely from the flash and from the Christmas lights .


ISO -400

Shutter - 1/80

F/stop- 1.8









Here is when I tried to attempt the shape with the lights. I started off trying a snow flake..but it kept turning out funny. So I tried a more basic shape such as a heart.. and in some spots you can see it.. but for the shape I cut it out using a colorful yellow index card..which put a filter over the picture... but throughout all this it managed to get the shape and in focus.


ISO - 400

Shutter - 1/80

F/stop - 1.8







Here is the final image.. I wanted a snow affect look.. but also to have light..so she picked up the "snow" and i stuffed the lights underneath.. Overall the bokeh experience was pretty interesting and fun, I believe for it to work you definitely need a patient model while you make sure the settings and everything else is good.. I really did enjoy it and definitely will shoot again!


ISO- 400

Shutter - 1/80

F/stop - 1.8





Overall View:

Behind The Scenes:





11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page